This website uses cookies for anonymised analytics and for core features such as voting on polls and comments. See our privacy and cookies policies for more information.

Get TFN updates
The voice of Scotland’s vibrant voluntary sector

Published by Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations

TFN is published by the Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations, Mansfield Traquair Centre, 15 Mansfield Place, Edinburgh, EH3 6BB. The Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations (SCVO) is a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation. Registration number SC003558.

Book your place at the Scottish Charity Awards

This news post is 8 months old

This year's ceremony will take place as an online extravaganza and will be streamed for free so that everyone can attend safely

The most exciting night in the Scottish voluntary sector’s calendar is fast approaching.

The Scottish Charity Awards 2020 take place on Friday 25 September at 7pm.

And you can join the action live from the comfort of your home. The event is being screened on YouTube and will also be shown via a secure online platform.

Sally Magnusson will present the awards live from the EICC in Edinburgh, although there will be no audience present and finalists will join throughout the night on live video streams. Special guests are also set to appear on screen during the event. Finalists and guests are also being encouraged and supported to host Zoom parties to mark the occasion and celebrate the achievements of everyone involved.

Anna Fowlie, chief executive of event organisers the Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations (SCVO), said she is looking forward to a special evening, despite everyone not being able to spend the night in the same place.

She said: “Much of the work celebrated this year predates the pandemic. All aspects of our lives have been disrupted in 2020. Our communities and the charities, voluntary groups and social enterprises they rely on have been under enormous pressure. Scotland’s voluntary sector has never been more needed and will be essential to Scotland’s recovery. At SCVO we know that fantastic work is going on all the time and we are delighted to celebrate these achievements and successes through the Scottish Charity Awards.

“This year’s shortlist of 45 finalists showcases just how diverse our voluntary sector is, and highlights the fantastic work that has been going on across the country since the last awards until March this year. The awards are a great way of celebrating and recognising the people and organisations who make our voluntary sector a crucial part of every part of life in Scotland.”

This year’s shortlist includes 45 individuals and organisations from charities and voluntary groups across the country.

Simon Community Scotland, The Scottish Centre for Personal Safety, My Name’5 Doddie Foundation, HIV Scotland, The Green Team and the Moira Anderson Foundation have been nominated in the Charity of the Year category.

The Cracking Campaign category will see The Coalition for Equal Protection, Saving Coul Links, Pavement Parking Ban, Kingdom Off Road Motorcycle Club and Right to Vote fight it out.

Euan’s Guide founder Euan MacDonald, MND Scotland chief executive Lawrence Cowan, Bruce Wilson of the Scottish Huntington’s Association), Elaine McHugh (Beatson Cancer Charity), Dennis Clifford (Macmillan Cancer Support), and Michael MacAllister of Scottish War Blinded are all nominated in the Charity Champion category.

The Pioneering Project nominees are: Edinburgh Travel Bank, Young Women Lead, Autism Friendly Rugby, Shannon’s Box, SCCR Digital Resource Hub and Housing First for Youth West Lothian.

Leading Light sees Erin Murdoch (Girvan Youth Trust), Declan Harrigan (S.M.I.L.E Counselling), Michelle Carruthers MBE (Food Train), Rebecca Patterson (Scottish Partnership for Palliative Care SPPC), David Ward (The Learning Space) and Bridie Ashrowan (The Broomhouse Centre/Space) all recognised.

Headway East Lothian SCIO, The Broomhouse Centre/Space, Milan Senior Welfare Organisation, Perth Autism Support, Supporting our community and Cyrenians’ Flavour and Haver Community Cook School are up for Celebrating Communities.

Brian Robertson (Fife Employment Access Trust), Ash Mohammed (Move On Scotland), Graham Scougall (Creative Crieff), Nicole Bell (Support in Mind Scotland), Nigel Over (The Smith-Magenis Syndrome SMS Foundation UK) and Alan Jacques (Music in Hospitals and Care) are nominated for the Terrific Trustee award.

Demonstrating Digital has four nominees: Simon Community Scotland, Community Transport Glasgow, Cyrenians’ Scottish Centre for Conflict Resolution (SCCR) and Alchemy Film and Arts.

You can register to attend the Scottish Charity Awards online now.



Be the first to comment.