This website uses cookies for anonymised analytics and for core features such as voting on polls and comments. See our privacy and cookies policies for more information.

Get TFN updates
The voice of Scotland’s vibrant voluntary sector

Published by Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations

TFN is published by the Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations, Mansfield Traquair Centre, 15 Mansfield Place, Edinburgh, EH3 6BB. The Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations (SCVO) is a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation. Registration number SC003558.

Charity Film Awards open for entries


The Charity Film Awards 2020 is inviting charities to enter

The Charity Film Awards 2020 are now open for entry.

They celebrate the very best films and videos that have been created for, or on behalf of, registered charities within the UK, and continue to champion effective story-telling and digital engagement in the third sector.

Since its launch in 2017, over 1000 charities have entered and over 250,000 members of the public have voted.

Sam Burton, founder of the awards, said: “Charity Film Awards continues to grow its impact both in terms of the video views we generate and the numbers of votes from members of the public. Simply taking part can provide a huge boost to a charity no matter what its size or focus.

"Whether or not you are a winner, taking part in the awards will give you an opportunity to share with your community and partners, a reason to engage and connect, an opportunity to tell your story. Nearly 10% of those who voted last year also made a donation.”

As well as encouraging donations for the participating charities, the awards have driven significantly increased video views, positive PR, and social media engagement.

The awards are free to enter, and charities, agencies, and supporters of the charity will have the opportunity to nominate their videos for the Charity Film Awards. After the nomination process, there will be a public vote of all the films entered, which will determine the final shortlist. The films will then be judged by a panel of experts, with winners being announced at a gala event at a prestigious event (to be confirmed) in London in spring 2020.

Among last year’s winners are Child Bereavement UK, NSPCC/Childline, RSPCA, Cats Protection, and Breast Cancer Care.

Nominations for this year’s awards are open until 5pm on 15 October. Charities and CICs wishing to enter can now do so here.



Be the first to comment.