This website uses cookies for anonymised analytics and for account authentication. See our privacy and cookies policies for more information.

The voice of Scotland’s vibrant voluntary sector

Published by Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations

TFN is published by the Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations, Mansfield Traquair Centre, 15 Mansfield Place, Edinburgh, EH3 6BB. The Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations (SCVO) is a Scottish Charitable Incorporated Organisation. Registration number SC003558.

"Resilience, adaptability, and commitment": Scottish Charity Awards winners revealed

This news post is almost 2 years old

Ten winners were revealed at the glitzy event in Glasgow with the best of Scotland's third sector honoured.

The winners of the Scottish Charity Awards recognising Scotland’s voluntary sector were announced in a glittering awards ceremony hosted by Sally Magnusson at the Crowne Plaza hotel in Glasgow. 

The event, run annually by the Scottish Council for Voluntary Organisations (SCVO), the Scottish Charity Awards celebrates the best of the voluntary sector and this year’s shortlist included 44 individuals and organisations from charities, social enterprises and voluntary groups across the country.  

The winner of each of the eight categories was decided by a judging panel, with the ninth People’s Choice category winner decided by the public with over 18,000 votes cast online ahead of the ceremony on June 15. 

Anna Fowlie, chief executive of SCVO, said: “At SCVO we know that every day, voluntary organisations across the country are working tirelessly to support the people and communities they help, and are making an incredible impact. 

“We are thrilled to have been able to join together in person to celebrate the achievements of our finalists and winners, after hosting the previous two years’ ceremonies online due to the pandemic. 

Credit: Lewis Houghton

“This year’s finalists have all demonstrated resilience, adaptability, and commitment to their communities and it is a privilege to be able to celebrate their successes. 

“Thanks to our sponsors, the team at the Crowne Plaza, our host Sally Magnusson and everyone who made the 2022 Scottish Charity Awards so wonderful. Congratulations to all winners!”

An Edinburgh charity, The Royal Zoological Society of Scotland, scooped the publicly voted award, with the wildlife conservation charity picking up the People’s Choice award after winning out in a public vote. 

Ben Supple, director of engagement and business development, Royal Zoological Society of Scotland said: “I would like to thank everyone who voted for our charity and helped us win this prestigious award. 

“We have been overwhelmed by the public support we have received during the pandemic and would like to dedicate this award to everyone who holds nature dear to their heart.”

Elsewhere, the awards saw a number of other organisations pick up gongs, with Charity of the Year being won by S.M.I.L.E Counselling. 

Perth and Kinross based Feldyroo won the Community Action award, while Campaign of the Year went to Leuchie House’s Big Hare Trail. 

Sustainable Thinking Scotland lived up to its name by picking up the Climate Conscious award, while Digital Citizen of the year also went to Leuchie House. 

In the individual awards, 81-year-old veteran volunteer Nan Fotheringham of Coatbridge Citizens Advice Bureau won Volunteer of the Year, with Employee of the Year going to Claire Wadsworth of Scottish Families Affected By Alcohol And Drugs. 

Rounding off the award winners was Ian Monteague of Fare Scotland, who was chosen as Trustee of the Year. 

Volunteer of the year, Nan Fotheringham, said: “I’m delighted to accept this fantastic award and obviously surprised given the high calibre of finalists representing charities across Scotland. I accept it on behalf of my fellow volunteers in Coatbridge CAB and the CABx network. 

“I love my volunteering role as it gives me as much satisfaction as I hope I give the clients that I support. Everyone knows Citizens Advice and thankfully use us when they need us and I hope that this recognition benefits the network as well as Coatbridge CAB. 

“Thank you for this fantastic experience and honour.” 

A full list of Scottish Charity Award 2022 winners: 

  • Charity of the Year award: S.M.I.L.E Counselling
  • Campaign of the Year award: The Big Hare Trail - Leuchie House 
  • Volunteer of the Year award: Nan Fotheringham - Coatbridge Citizens Advice Bureau 
  • Community Action award: Feldyroo 
  • Employee of the Year award: Claire Wadsworth - Scottish Families Affected By Alcohol And Drugs 
  • Climate Conscious award: Sustainable Thinking Scotland 
  • Pioneering Project award: The Access Hub - Simon Community Scotland 
  • Trustee of the Year award: Ian Monteague - Fare Scotland 
  • Digital Citizen award: Leuchie House 
  • People’s Choice award: The Royal Zoological Society of Scotland


Commenting is now closed on this post